Norfolk Innovation Awards 2015


For too long I believe Norfolk has been regarded by too many as a rural backwater, in education and in particular the all-important STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) subjects. These are key to constructing a world class, modern and competitive local economy, as well as creating the new businesses, jobs and opportunities we need.

If we are going to unlock the full potential of Norfolk’s young people and equip them to succeed in the increasingly competitive global economy, and to seize and benefit from the growing opportunities on their doorstep here in the Eastern Region, then we must do all we can to promote the spirit of innovation and enterprise in our area and encourage the next generation.

That’s why I set up The Norfolk Way eight years ago and I was delighted last night to present the inaugural Norfolk Innovation Awards at Wymondham High Academy supported by, and in conjunction with, some of the leading businesses and skills agencies in our area, rewarding the best examples of science and innovation in schools and colleges.

The awards were sponsored by key local businesses in the Norfolk ‘cluster’ to help build ties between schools and the local economy. They highlight to our schools and students the opportunities available locally.

It was a great privilege to meet the award winners (full list below) and introduce the Norfolk Way 2014 Rural Enterprise Bursary winners, as well as highlighting the work of Lord Sainsbury as winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Together we will help build a network of Norfolk enterprise and innovation to help power the Norfolk Economy for the 21st Century.






Norfolk Innovation Awards 2015 (winners in italics)


Student Nominees


Best A Level Science Project Award

Sophie Bradshaw (Wymondham High Academy)

Richard Brister (Wymondham High Academy)

Alex Davey (Wymondham High Academy)

Shaina Ford (City College Norwich)

Eloise Hunt (Wymondham College)

Chris Knights (Wymondham High Academy)

Mel McAllister (Wymondham College)

Ella Stephenson (City College Norwich)

Ethan Strak (Wymondham College)

Luke Whitehead (Wymondham High Academy)


Nuffield Crest Special Award

Sophie Bradshaw (Wymondham High Academy)

Mel McAllister (Wymondham College)


Best Achiever Years 8 & 9 Award*

Will Adams (Wymondham High Academy)

Chloe Boland (City Academy Norwich)

Sara Chilenge (Wymondham High Academy)

Abbie Jode (Flegg High School)

Yen Yen Loke (Wymondham High Academy)

Aaron Potton (Wayland Academy)

Oscar Stevens (Wymondham High Academy)

Helena Tillyard (Notre Dame High School)

Thomas Woods (City Academy Norwich)


Best Idea for Commercial Innovation Award


Robin Reece (Wayland Academy)


Staff Nominees


Most Dedicated Science Technician Award

Debbie Allen (Wymondham High Academy)

John Gregory (Flegg High School)

Maria Hall (Notre Dame High School)

Penny Harris (Wayland Academy)

Martin Simpson (City Academy Norwich)

Barbara Snelling (Taverham High School)


Most Inspiring Junior School Science Teacher Award

Katja Galea (Wayland Junior Academy)


Most Inspiring Senior School Science Teacher

Jillian Chadwick (Notre Dame High School)

Rob Gillespie (Wymondham High Academy)

Rose Niescierowicz (City College Norwich)

Edward Sadler (Wayland Academy)


Most Outstanding Careers/IAG Person

Debra Bland (Flegg High School)

Peter Dolton (Wayland Academy)

Alison Honeybone (City College Norwich)


The School which achieves Most with Least

Science Department, Wayland Academy

Science Department, Wymondham High Academy


Lifetime Achievement Award for Services to Science, Technology and Innovation in Norfolk

Lord Sainsbury

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s